Operation Baking GALS, Round 4 Recap

As you probably know at this point, I participated in Round 4 of Operation Baking GALS. Our team was hosted by Cat of The Cat’s Pajamas and she did an awesome job! Team Cat’s Pajamas hosted Cat’s brother Daniel, a Marine serving on the 26th MEU. I sent over the shortbread and the snickerdoodles you see in the previous two posts, as well as two kinds of beef jerky, some instant tea and drink mixes, baby wipes and trail mix. I wanted to bake up some chocolate chip cookies (Daniel’s favorite) but I didn’t have time. Murphy’s Law, the whole week turned into one big hurry and mess, and I just couldn’t muster up the time to make another batch of cookies. Sadly, in my rush, I also forgot to pack the card I had prepared for Daniel and his buddies – sad!

I’d never shipped anything international, or flatrate, before. Luckily, I live in a small town with a small town post office. Mr. Kelley (the man behind the counter) helped me with everything that Cat didn’t tell me, and we had boxes on the way in no time. Mr. Kelley is a Navy veteran currently in the Reserves, and was more than pleased to help me send some goodies to the men and women overseas. I’ll have to bring him some Christmas treats when Round 5 rolls around. :)

Cat did a post-up over at her blog – hop over there and check out what everyone else sent to the unit!

One thought on “Operation Baking GALS, Round 4 Recap

  1. Oh, no! I’m sorry I didn’t tell you everything about those pesky customs forms…. like the grimlins that live in the bin with the forms! I’m sure he’ll love everything and it was too much fun!

    ~Cat

    PS: Can’t wait for the next round!

Leave a Reply

