My apologies, really.

Ever gotten stuck in a rut? Or, more accurately, fallen down from a high spot? That’s pretty much where I am, hence the lack of posts recently. Really, I haven’t been inspired to cook – well, I shouldn’t say that. I have been inspired to cook, thanks to the numerous beautiful and delicious-looking dishes posted all over my RSS reader for days now. I see them and go, ‘Ooh, that would be nice…’ But when I get home? It’s all I can do to make grilled cheese or cacio e pepe.

Basically, I’ve gone back to the basics: I’m living on fancy grilled cheese, cacio e pepe, and the occasional muffin or oatmeal for breakfast. I don’t know if it’s the holidays, which always come with a mix of gloom and cheer; the newest addition of giant dog into my tiny apartment, which makes three total; or maybe it’s time to rearrange the furniture and adjust my feng shui so it’s not getting blocked by ironing boards and kennels piled with clothes or saddles stacked three deep against the wall. Maybe I need to detox and spend seven days eating Japanese and South Beach-approved, deep in meditation, yoga and kami bushi kai katas. It could be my impending accounting final and my subsequent graduation as a member of UGA’s Class of 2008, or a few other rather important things that won’t be mentioned until after Christmas (Cat, you know what I’m talking about, hush-hush!)

Maybe I just need to suck it up and get over it. I have cravings for McD’s chicken nuggets, for crying out loud!

In any case, this weekend is going to lend itself to many things, likely including moving my furniture by myself (I’m afraid of what’s under the bed), having a barn party Saturday night, decorating for Christmas (and making my own ornaments), finishing up my last bits of homework for the last class of my undergrad career… and baking some kind of apple dessert, likely a tarte tatin. I have Granny Smiths still waiting patiently on my island to be used for something.

So please accept my quiet apologies for my absence. I’m doing my best to make a comeback.

One thought on “My apologies, really.

Leave a Reply

