Popsicles for breakfast? Berry smoothie protein pops.

I have a problem with breakfast. Not eating it, but fixing it. See, I’m trying to be better about breakfast, because it’s the most important meal of the day. And I’m trying to lose a little weight, too. Unfortunately, it’s hard for me to fix breakfast before I’ve had appropriate amounts of coffee, and by then two hours have gone by and I’m not hungry. Until lunchtime, when I could eat everything in the kitchen, all because I didn’t eat breakfast. So I’m trying to be better about it, but it’s hard because of the aforementioned autopilot/zombie state I’m in when I get out of bed. I want something I can grab, heat up, and eat. Nothing complicated. I don’t even like to have to put anything together, like yogurt and granola and fruit and nuts. Too much time taken with getting stuff out, eyeballing it in the cup, yadda ya. And yeah, sometimes I like doing that, but most mornings, not so much. Even worse, now that summer is upon us, I damn sure don’t want to eat anything that requires a hot stove or range. Microwave if necessary, but preferably just serve and eat.

Enter berry smoothie protein pops.

Everybody loves smoothies – maybe not like everyone loves parfaits, but close enough. Green smoothies, strawberry smoothies, blueberry-banana-chocolate smoothies. Good for you, quick and on the go. The ultimate breakfast. This is better: smoothie in popsicle form. Now you can eat your breakfast, get all your start-up nutrition and feel like you’re eating dessert for breakfast! I can’t think of a better idea. All you need are your ingredients, a blender of some kind and preferably an ice cream maker. That last isn’t vital, but it makes your popsicles creamy as opposed to icy when you bite into your frozen breakfast treat. I prefer creamy, and I have two ice cream makers, so there you go.

Berry Smoothie Protein Pops
serves: 4-8, depending on the size of your molds

ingredients:

2 pints strawberries, or berries of choice
1 cup Greek yogurt
2-3 scoops vanilla protein powder
splash of milk or water (optional)

directions:

Hull strawberries; blend and strain into bowl to remove seeds (if desired). Whisk together strawberry puree, yogurt and protein powder and/or blend to thoroughly combine. Add water/milk to reach desired consistency if necessary. If using an ice cream maker, freeze according to manufacturer’s directions. Spoon into popsicle molds and freeze 3-5 hours.

If you have any leftover smoothie fro-yo, you can always make it into scoopable fro-yo and have that for breakfast too. I did, and it was awesome. Especially because I made the bars in the morning, so all the scrapings of ‘hard’ fro-yo from the sides of the freezer bowl were mine for the taking. Am I the only one who enjoys that bit of making my own frozen treats? I hope not. It looks a mess, but it’s definitely my favorite part.

These also make great afternoon snacks in the heat that you don’t have to feel too guilty about eating. Again, healthy dessert! How much better can it get?

6 thoughts on “Popsicles for breakfast? Berry smoothie protein pops.

    • Honestly, I don’t remember if I got them at Bed Bath & Beyond or if I found them somewhere else. I know Crate and Barrel has the exact ones in their summer catalog this year. Bed Bath & Beyond doesn’t have them that I know of, but they do have some with straws in the handle for all the drippings. :) hope this helps!

      Kate

      • Amazon.com has them. I ordered them and I have them now. They also have green. AND they have other cool moulds by the same company. thanks for your response.

  1. These look so good! I love homemade pops and so does my son! And also, thank you so much for referring Not so humble pie for macaron tips. She’s amazing and scientific, which works for me!

  2. Pingback: Popsicles for breakfast? Berry smoothie protein pops. « boonie foodie Eating

Leave a Reply

