Chicken enchilada casserole.

Two months of adjusting to life with a baby attached to me more often than not, and I think I may be getting the hang of it. (Tip: Don’t get too used to any “normal” – just roll with it.) To be honest, Little Man isn’t that much of a hassle in everyday life, although breastfeeding every 2-3 hours definitely creates a schedule I have to stick to.

That schedule means I’m more limited with my cooking. I definitely understand the value of casseroles and batch cooking, now! My latest Pinterest search led me to a wealth of make-ahead freezer meals that I’m looking forward to trying out. One of those meals was the Layered Enchilada Casserole. We had almost everything on hand already, and I figured if we didn’t like it, I wouldn’t worry with making one to freeze.

It turns out this one was a hit, and it made well even though I altered the recipe from Joyful Momma’s. I’ll be making it again, and have some waiting for us when I don’t feel like cooking.

Chicken Enchilada Casserole
serves 6-8

ingredients:
3 cups cooked, shredded chicken*
1 15 oz. can black beans, drained
1 15 oz. can kernel corn, drained
1 can green chiles
1 can mild enchilada sauce
2 cups shredded cheese
Tortillas chips

directions:
Preheat oven to 350F and grease a 2 quart baking dish. Mix chicken, beans, corn, chiles and sauce. Layer chicken mixture and tortillas chips in baking dish, ending with chicken mixture. Top with cheese, and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until cheese is melted. Serve warm with sour cream, sliced jalapeños, or whatever your heart desires.

*You can use canned chicken in a pinch; or you can boil chicken breasts until done, and shred them yourself. My new favorite trick is to shred them using my KitchenAid – just put the cooked chicken in the mixer bowl with the paddle attachment, and turn it on “Stir.” In a few minutes, you’ll have restaurant-quality shredded chicken!

One thought on “Chicken enchilada casserole.

  1. I can’t believe I’ve only just now found your blog! I’ve been reading blogs for many years, especially food blogs. I’m from Alabama, grew up in Lexington, living in Georgetown and married to a man from Maysville, KY. It was searching for a recipe to satisfy his craving for transparent pie that led me here. I really enjoy your writing and I’m sure I will use many of your recipes!

Leave a Reply

