Menu Plan Monday – 9 Apr 12

With four adults in the house, a baby on the way, three dogs, and very limited finances (I’m not employed, two of us have a part-time job or two, and one of us is employed full-time), things are pretty tight around the household. And I’m sure that many folks are feeling the same way. There is a lot of pantry- and freezer-cooking going on around here, especially now that MIL and I cleaned out the big freezer today to figure out what’s available! Because I’m not working (for pay, outside the home), and probably won’t be offered many opportunities now that I’m in my 7th month of pregnancy, I’ve offered to do meal planning for the family so we can save on groceries, and so I can try to build up a stockpile of healthier food while I’m “out of commission” for a while. Even better, having to meal plan for the family, instead of just the two of us, means I’m held accountable for posting every week! Bonus!

Unlike the last time I tried this (almost a YEAR AGO), I won’t be doing a full day’s meals for the whole week, just suppers and a few desserts. Lunches can be taken care of with leftovers; and breakfast is a pretty routine affair, for me, and basically nonexistent for everyone else.

Tuesday: Beef stroganoff over egg noodles

Wednesday: Vegetable soup with sausage

Thursday: Spaghetti and meatballs OR chicken alfredo

Friday: Baked flounder with spinach-pecan pesto and breadcrumb crust; creamed pearl onions; spinach salad

Saturday: DIY pizzas (with homemade crust) OR Grill Supper (burgers)

Sunday: Open

Monday: Teriyaki chicken, stir-fried green beans and fried rice

Desserts: pear cobbler à la mode; chocolate chip cookies; homemade chocolate pudding; Bittman’s brownies; Cinnamon Sugar Pull-Apart Bread

1 thought on “Menu Plan Monday – 9 Apr 12

  1. Sounds like you have a great plan for saving money and working together, as a team. I love Spaghetti and meatballs sound so good right now.

Leave a comment